top of page
  • Writer's picturesonyanemec

Tears, Tantrums and (not so) Tragic Endings


If there’s one thing we’ve learned from this global pandemic. it’s that we’re very far from being ‘all in it together’. From rule-breaking politicians and their ‘hey, let’s go on a road-trip’ advisors to clueless celebrities simpering into their baths of asses’ milk – the gulf between the haves and the have-nots deeper than the reserves of all the tech company monopoly members put together. The fault lines don’t only crack along economic divides though, there are smaller fractures that have created some interesting niche groups where the main concern is escapism rather than day-to-day survival.

While millions of people have been – and will be – severely affected physically, mentally and economically – a minority might be inconvenienced and might actually turn a profit. A sizeable number though occupy a middle ground – they’ll experience some emotional distress, possibly take a slight financial hit and never be confronted by Covid-related illness or death. The biggest trauma this group faces is how to deal with the crushing boredom of lockdown – or usual-routine-restricted – days. The big saviour for this group – apparently – has been Netflix. But then, that could just be a rumour put round by Netflix…

I can pass judgement on this middle-ground group as I, myself, am a member. I resisted the temptation to go down the Netflix route for various reasons. One reason being that I reckon there’s enough stuff on Freeview to watch and I don’t need to pay for more stuff. I also have a bookcase full of must-get-around-to-reading material, endless similar online options, and my own work to be getting on with (if there was a social services hot-line for half-written, neglected books to call – I’d be in serious trouble!) Really no need to start with a new obsession, eh? Well… That’s the thing with obsessions – you never choose them, they choose you (or something like that).

I can’t remember the exact date. It was probably end of March, start of April. At the beginning of these crazy times, at any rate, that I took my first tentative dip into the Metropolitan Opera nightly free streams. It was Tosca – which I was kinda familiar with already and the main star was called Sonya (the absolutely brilliant Sonya Yoncheva). I was pretty much hooked. Not so much that I tuned in every evening – that changed though with seeing Natalie Dessay in La Traviata. It soon became most evenings, tuning in to get my fix. All those tears, tantrums and tragic endings – I couldn’t get enough. Real life was crazy but this was even crazier! It was all so incredibly thrilling and cathartic – scenes of sadness, cruelty and tragedy performed in hyper (un)reality, unrelenting until the final note. And then – a symbol of hope as the dead are resurrected in time to take their curtain calls! The obsession continues to this day but thank God the Met Opera are starting to show repeats – which has helped to wean me off the addiction a bit. But cold turkey? Never!

How to show my gratitude to the Met and just opera in general (I confess to some serious flirting with Glyndebourne and the Royal Opera)? I penned a young adult novel called Lockdown Fever Diva. A simple tale of a sixteen year old, working-class, Edinburgh girl who discovers opera when in lockdown. There are a few reasons for making the central character (Chloe) sixteen. One – she can describe the crazy opera plots without any pretentiousness, and point out the dodgy ethics in many of them. Two – many of the most famous opera heroines are Chloe’s age, or younger! Three – I wanted to create a young (non-tragic) heroine for these new weird times which have been tough for everyone but especially for the young. Add in uncertainty about education, careers, jobs and their future in general…

It’s not only for teens though – it’s for anyone who likes a bit of humour and an uplifting message – an interest in opera strictly optional. And – who knows – I might even persuade you to share my new obsession!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page