top of page
  • Writer's picturesonyanemec

Green Shoots... and where to find them


What can I say about this awful situation that isn't being said by a million others? I have to admit I'm generally a glass-half-empty type of gal who definitely tends more towards an Eeyore disposition than that of a Tigger. But - now more than ever - I'm forcing myself to look for those green shoots. And - lo and behold - I came across this wonderfully hopeful story from The Guardian the other day. It strikes a chord with me because:

It features my 'home from home when in Rome' - Pigneto.

It demonstrates two wonderful examples of green shoot recovery for the future:


1. People deemed to not have much in the way of market value becoming the real heroes of the hour.


2. That being resourceful, keeping it local and being GREEN works!



Top Tip: There's no doubt economic green shoots are going to be hard to find in the foreseeable. So even more important to keep a bit of greenery growing in your life right now. But even that's fraught with problems right now - from the politics of whether you have a garden or not - to the ethical dilemma of is a flowering plant an essential item on your shopping list? Look, if the supermarket has plants in stock - they want to sell them, right? Pick one up (even if it's just one of those growing herb plants), take it home and nurture it. If they're not available - start growing from apple seeds, carrot tops... And even if you don't achieve food self-sufficiency, I guarantee it'll provide a little green shoot of hope.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page